PortalHomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog in

Share | 

 Richards Grabs Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing Finale

View previous topic View next topic Go down 

Male Number of posts : 3001
Age : 31
Registration date : 2008-01-14

PostSubject: Richards Grabs Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing Finale   Sun Feb 07, 2016 5:38 pm

Richards Grabs Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing Finale

BRUNSWICK, GA (February 7, 2016) On Sunday afternoon at Golden Isles Speedway, Josh Richards takes the $15,000 finale of the Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing. The event was sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Jonathan Davenport, the reigning LOLMDS National Champion made a valiant effort on the final lap to pass Richards, but he spun allowing Richards to take the checkers first for the second time this weekend. Jared Landers slipped by Davenport for second, while Davenport re-gained control of his car to cross the line in third. Scott Bloomquist was fourth, followed by Eddie Carrier Jr.

Davenport led the first lap of the 60-lap event before Richards grabbed the lead on lap two. Richards then held the top spot over Davenport until lap 35 when Davenport was able to forge back into the lead. The two then dueled as Richards rallied back into the lead for good on lap 46.

“I kept watching the crew guys that were giving me signals. I knew he [Davenport] was still close when I was leading. He [Davenport] actually helped me when he passed me because he showed me another line. For a day race, the track had plenty of grip to it. I was conserving my tires, I didn’t know if they would last, but they did. The track crew did a great job with the track! To win twice down here, it’s a great start to the season”

“Thanks to Valvoline, Seubert Calf Ranches, Integra, Sunoco, Ace Metal Works, Hoosier Tires, Sallack Well Services, Petroff Towing, and Andy Durham of Durham Racing Engines.”

Landers was able to sneak by Davenport in the final corner to nab a second-place finish. “We have had a good car all weekend,” said the race runner-up. For a day race, the track was in really good shape, we could run anywhere on it! We went with a softer compound tire and it held up really well.”

“I’d like to thank everyone at Crop Production Services, Mark Martin Automotive, ASC Warranty, Big Dog Motorsports, Bad Boy Mowers, Sweet-Bloomquist Chassis, and Durham Race Engines. I think this is the best points start we have ever had!”

Davenport gave Richards one final shot heading to the checked flag, but ended up getting sideways. He stopped momentarily and re-gained control as the race stayed green to the finish. “It’s Super Bowl Sunday so I was going for the win! I got in the corner and was already committed and it just turned on me. We were fortunate to finish third. I am glad we didn’t lose any more points than we did.”

“The track crew did a great job with the track today. Turns one and two were a little slick, but we could run into turns three and four pretty hard. I want to thank Kevin and Lee Roy Rumley. Today is Lee Roy’s 80th birthday and like last year, was hoping to bring him home a win.”

Completing the top ten were Tim McCreadie, Dennis Erb Jr., Brandon Sheppard, Devin Moran, and Darrell Lanigan.

In preliminary action, Brian Shirley set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group B) amongst the 42 entrants, with a lap of 15.231 seconds. Jonathan Davenport set the fastest time in Group A with a time of 15.240 seconds. Jonathan Davenport, Jared Landers, Brian Shirley, and Josh Richards won their respective heat races. Chris Madden won the B-Main.

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Race Summary
Sunday, February 7, 2016
Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing
Golden Isles Speedway – Waynesville, GA

Miller Welders Fast Time Group A: Jonathan Davenport / 15.240 seconds
Miller Welders Fast Time Group B: Brian Shirley / 15.231 seconds

Eibach Springs Heat Race #1 Finish (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jonathan Davenport, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Tim McCreadie, Dennis Erb, Jr., Chase Junghans, Mike Marlar, Donald Bradsher, Chad Hollenbeck, Allen Murray, Austin Kirkpatrick, Brian Ligon-DNS

FK Rod Ends Heat Race #2 Finish (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Jared Landers, Devin Moran, Scott Bloomquist, Ivedent Lloyd, Jr., Chris Madden, Brandon Sheppard, Dennis Franklin, Don O'Neal, Steve Francis, Austin Theiss

Simpson Performance Products Heat Race #3 Finish (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Brian Shirley, Kenny PettyJohn, Randy Weaver, Jimmy Owens, Mason Zeigler, Kyle Bronson, Gregg Satterlee, Donald McIntosh, Kelly Guy, Tyler Millwood, Dustin Mitchell-DNS

QA1 Heat Race #4 Finish (8 Laps, Top 4 Transfer): Josh Richards, Billy Moyer, Jr., Ryan King, Earl Pearson, Jr., Mark Whitener, Darrell Lanigan, Josh Rice, Steven Roberts, James Rice, Cecil Eunice-DNS

Fast Shafts B-Main #1 Finish (10 Laps, Top 3 Transfer): Chris Madden, Chase Junghans, Brandon Sheppard, Steve Francis, Don O'Neal, Mike Marlar, Donald Bradsher, Allen Murray, Chad Hollenbeck, Dennis Franklin, Austin Kirkpatrick-DNS, Austin Theiss-DNS, Brian Ligon-DNS

Keyser MFG B-Main #2 Transfers (no B-Main): Darrell Lanigan, Don O’Neal, Steve Francis

Feature Finish (60 Laps):

1 4 1R Josh Richards Shinnston, WV
2 3 777 Jared Landers Batesville, AR
3 1 6 Jonathan Davenport Mount Airy, NC
4 11 0 Scott Bloomquist Mooresburg, TN
5 5 28 Eddie Carrier, Jr. Salt Rock, WV
6 9 39 Tim McCreadie Watertown, NY
7 13 28e Dennis Erb, Jr. Carpentersville, IL
8 21 B5 Brandon Sheppard New Berlin, IL
9 7 99m Devin Moran Dresden, OH
10 22 15L Darrell Lanigan Union, KY
11 17 44 Chris Madden Gaffney, SC
12 16 1 Earl Pearson, Jr. Jacksonville, FL
13 24 15F Steve Francis Ashland, KY
14 6 38 Kenny PettyJohn Millsboro, DE
15 12 1G Ryan King Seymour, TN
16 8 21jr Billy Moyer, Jr. Batesville, AR
17 23 5 Don O'Neal Martinsville, IN
18 10 116 Randy Weaver Crossville, TN
19 20 5W Mark Whitener Middleburg, FL
20 15 21L Ivedent Lloyd, Jr. Ocala, FL
21 14 20 Jimmy Owens Newport, TN
22 19 18 Chase Junghans Manhattan, KS
23 18 25Z Mason Zeigler Chalk Hill, PA
24 2 3s Brian Shirley Chatham, IL

Race Statistics

Entrants: 42

Lap Leaders: Jonathan Davenport (Lap 1); Josh Richards (Laps 2 – 43); Jonathan Davenport (Laps 35-46); Josh Richards (Laps 47 – 50)

Cautions: Mason Zeigler (lap 1); Don O’Neal, Brandon Sheppard, Darrell Lanigan, Jimmy Owens (Lap 3); Darrell Lanigan (Lap 28); Randy Weaver (Lap 34)

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Provisionals: Don O’Neal, Steve Francis

Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Emergency Provisionals: n/a

Miller Welders Fast Time Provisionals: n/a

Wrisco Feature Winner: Josh Richards

Optima Batteries Hard Charger of the Race: Brandon Sheppard (Started: 21st; Finished: 8th; Advanced 13 Positions)

Midwest Sheet Metal Spoiler Challenge Point Leader: Josh Richards

Allstar Power Move of the Race: Brandon Sheppard

Sunoco Race for Gas Highest Finisher: Josh Richards

Hot Rod Processing Rookie of the Race: n/a

COMP Cams Engine Builder of the Race: Andy Durham Racing Engines

Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder of the Race: Rocket Chassis

Outerwears Crew Chief of the Race: Jason Durham (Jared Landers)

Fastest Lap of the Race: Brandon Sheppard (Lap #53 – 15.437 seconds)

Most Laps Led: Josh Richards

PFC Brakes Tough Break Award: Brian Shirley

Time of Race: 37 minutes 35 seconds


Back to top Go down
View user profile
Richards Grabs Georgia Boot Super Bowl of Racing Finale
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
DirtRippers :: Series Forums :: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-
Jump to: